Notre Dame's Dietzenbach is in the running for Dan Gable wrestling award; voting open to the public until Jan. 19

Notre Dame wrestler Kaiden Dietzenbach is in the running for the 2024 Class 2A Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA).

The IWCOA accepted nominations from high school coaches for student athletes in each of the three state wrestling classes for the men and combined all classes for the women’s award, regardless of their year in school and weight class. A committee selected by the IWCOA recently provided IAWrestle with a list of 15 finalist candidates for public input. Dietzenbach is the only wrestler from the local area to be named as a candidate.

Fans have the ability to vote once per day at IAwrestle.com for their top wrestler in each category until Jan. 19 at 12 p.m. (CT), when it will be narrowed down to the top seven. The fan vote winners will count as one vote towards the IWCOA’s committee votes in each round.

Another round of committee and fan voting will take place from Jan. 22 to Feb. 5 to determine the three finalists. Another round of voting will be held and the winner will be announced at the luncheon awards banquet, which will take place at the Fareway Conference Center in Boone on Feb. 28 at noon.

The two runner-up student athletes in each class will each receive finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.

Votes can be placed once every 24 hours at https://iawrestle.com/.../2024-mr-ms-dan-gable-wrestler.../ A full 24 hours must lapse between votes. For example, if a vote is placed at 8 p.m. on Monday, another vote cannot be placed until 8 p.m. on Tuesday.